crayon and me: a fork in the road

On the crayon blog today, Joe Jaffehas announced that Neville Hobson and I are moving onto a different but parallel path from crayon’s, the new marketing company Joe introduced last October.

This may sound like a dramatic split, but it’s not. Essentially, I’m moving away from my full-time role but will continue to work with Joe and crayon on those assignments where our skills and experience are complementary and beneficial to the client. crayon needed more staff who would perform day-to-day, hands-on work, while I needed to be able to pursue the kinds of opportunities that keep arising but are not necessarily compatible with crayon’s… Read More »

FIR, crayon, and coffee

Neville and I had our crayon shirts on this morning as we joined the first “coffee with crayon,” which will take place in the crayonville offices in Second Life every Thursday.

I counted about 20 or so participants talking about transparency, ethics, and disclosure, along with some general fun and socializing. It was 6 a.m. for me, but I had a cup of real coffee as my avatar sipped the virtual stuff. Join us next week.

Shel Holtz

Thanks for the snapshot, C.C.!

Update: C.C. tell me there were 40 people there. C.C. has also posted a PDF of the chat history on the crayonville blog.

Join me for a virtual cup

imageWanna talk communications? Marketing? PR? Wanna have that chat face-to-face with other people who share your interest from anywhere in the world?

You’re in luck. Grab a cup of coffee, log into Second Life, teleport on over to Crayonville Island, and join us for our first “coffee with crayon” session this Thursday, January 18, at 6 a.m. Pacific, 9 a.m. Eastern, 2 p.m. GMT.

Yeah, I know, 6 a.m. is an ungodly hour, but I’ll have a steaming cup of homebrewed Peets coffee in my hand (and a virtual cup of coffee in my virtual For Immediate Release coffee mug in my avatar’s hand) and I’ll be ready to join my fellow crayonistas and anybody… Read More »